top of page

The organisation of The Boiler and Engineering Skills Training Trust - BESTT

BESTT - brings together all of the main steam heritage sectors and its board includes:

  • The Heritage Railway Association

  • The National Traction Engine Trust

  • The Maritime Heritage Trust


Patrons -

  • Judy, Lady McAlpine

  • Lord Faulkner of Worcester

  • Brian Greenwood

  • Andrew Scott. CBE

  • Lord Hendy of Richmond Hill

Gordon 1.jpg
Tony Hunt.jpg
Garnett Photo.jpg
Andrew Semple.png
Nick Beilby.png
John Reddyhoff.jpg
Matthew Ellis.png

Gordon Newton - Chairman - Engineering experience. Previous owner of Israel Newton & Sons Ltd. Now boiler consultant. He is a member of the HRA/ORR Boiler Code of Practice committee.

Anthony Hunt - Trained as mechanical engineer and became director of national companies. Developed own company specialising in mechanical power transmission drives. Owner of traction engine. Past president of The Road Locomotive Society.

Robert James Garnett - Trained as a sea going marine engineering officer. Retired engineer surveyor. Involved in steam preservation, owning road going steam engines. He is a member of the HRA/ORR Boiler Code of Practice committee.


David Morgan - Chairman of HRA. Chairman of Great Central Railway Plc and Deputy Chairman of the West Somerset Railway. His longest railway involvement has been with the North Norfolk Railway of which he is now President, having originally joined its Board in 1968. Founder President of the European Federation of Museum and Tourist Railways (FEDECRAIL) and the World Association of Tourist Trams and Trains (WATTRAINS).

Andrew Semple - International Harvester Business Manager. Degree Agriculture Science, CEO own business - Plastic Injection Moulding. Maintaining and driving rail and road steam locomotives.
National Traction Engine Trust, Chairman now President. Deputy Chairman of BESTT.


Nick Beilby - Qualified as an Incorporated Engineer and became a member of the Institution of Civil Engineers and the Chartered Management Institute. Worked for British Rail for 20 years and was Resident Engineer (Newcastle) for the ECML electrification. Worked for Railtrack and Network Rail for 14 years being responsible for Buildings and structure maintenance. Since 2009 acted in a voluntary role as Project Manager for NYMR. Has educational experience, especially in science and technology, working in schools and colleges.
John Reddyhoff - Railway rolling stock engineer with over 40 years experience with British Rail and a major rolling stock owner in depot, fleet and project management. Volunteer and Chief Mechanical Engineer of the Keighley & Worth Valley Railway. Chartered Engineer and  Fellow of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers.

Hugh Harkett - Director of North Norfolk Railway and the Heritage Railway Association.

Matthew Ellis - was trained in mechanical engineering at the National Railway Museum and York College. After a short period as Rail Operations Coordinator at the NRM, he moved to Beamish Museum to be keeper of transport. Now employed by the Ffestiniog and Welsh HIghland Railway as Locomotive Manager.

Keith Ashford. Chief Mechanical Engineer of the North Norfolk Railway


Henry Cleary - Consultant


Lesley Buckley - Secretary to the BESTT Board

Supporting Organisations

Avon Valley Railway.png
Heritage Railway Association.png
Heritage Skills Academy.png
Kent & East Sussex Railway.png
Embsay & Bolton Abbey Steam Railway.png
Leighton Buzzard Railway.png
Llangollen Railway.png
Locomotive Owners Group Scotland Ltd.png
Maritime Heritage Trust.png
North Norfolk Railway.png
North Yorkshire Moors Railway.png
Romney, Hythe & Dymchurch.jpg
Severn Valley Railway.png
Shipshape Network For Ship Conservation.png
spa valley.png
Steam Boat Association.png
Worth Valley Railway.png
York College.png
page logo.png
page logo2.png
page logo3.png
bottom of page