Privacy Policy

Website by miyk-projects

The organisation of The Boiler and Engineering Training Trust - BESTT

BESTT - brings together all of the main steam heritage sectors and its board includes:

Patrons -

Gordon Newton - Chairman - Engineering experience. Previous owner of Israel Newton & Sons Ltd. Now boiler consultant. Member of The National Code of Practice - HM Railway Inspectorate.

Member Institute of Welding

Henry Cleary - Lives in South London and is involved with transport heritage and in particular the maritime sector through preservation of VIC 56, a steam powered naval victualling craft with a Cochran vertical boiler, which he acquired from MoD in 1978. He is a Director and Trustee of the Maritime Heritage Trust and retired from the senior civil service in 2011.

Bill Hillier - Director of the HRA. Chairman of both the Operating & Safety and Rail Cableways committees. The terms of reference of those committees give an indication of the responsibilities of these roles. He chairs the joint ORR / HRA Boiler Working Group on boiler maintenance.

Founder Director of the Gloucestershire Warwickshire Steam Railway, and Company Secretary for over 25 years.

Chartered Engineer he is qualified in both electronics and management. He has many years’ experience as a Director of a major electronics company and was responsible for Research Council funding of manufacturing research at Universities for ten years.

Anthony Hunt - Trained as mechanical engineer and became director of national companies. Developed own company specialising in mechanical power transmission drives. Owner of traction engine. Past president of The Road Locomotive Society.

Robert James Garnett - Trained as a sea going marine engineering officer. Retired engineer surveyor. Involved in steam preservation, owning road going steam engines. Member of the NTET General Council. Member of the Office of Rail Regulators Boiler Code of Practice Committee.

David Morgan - Chairman of HRA. Chairman of Great Central Railway Plc and Deputy Chairman of the West Somerset Railway. His longest railway involvement has been with the North Norfolk Railway of which he is now President, having originally joined its Board in 1968. Founder President of the European Federation of Museum and Tourist Railways (FEDECRAIL) and the World Association of Tourist Trams and Trains (WATTRAINS).

Andrew Semple - International Harvester Business Manager. Degree Agriculture Science, CEO own business - Plastic Injection Moulding. Maintaining and driving rail and road steam locomotives.

National Traction Engine Trust, Chairman now President. Deputy Chairman of BESTT.

Lawrence Donaldson - Qualified Incorporated Engineer with a mechanical and Quality Assurance background in the nuclear power industry. Worked in railway preservation for the last 21 years at several railways. He is a former Locomotive Manager at the KESR. He now works assisting the responsible person for assuring the safety of boilers on the KESR. He is a member of the HRA/ORR Boiler Code of Practice committee.

Nick Beilby - Qualified as an Incorporated Engineer and became a member of the Institution of Civil Engineers and the Chartered Management Institute. Worked for British Rail for 20 years and was Resident Engineer (Newcastle) for the ECML electrification. Worked for Railtrack and Network Rail for 14 years being responsible for Buildings and structure maintenance. Since 2009 acted in a voluntary role as Project Manager for NYMR. Has educational experience, especially in science and technology, working in schools and colleges.

John Reddyhoff - Railway rolling stock engineer with over 40 years experience with British Rail and a major rolling stock owner in depot, fleet and project management. Volunteer and Chief Mechanical Engineer of the Keighley & Worth Valley Railway. Chartered Engineer and  Fellow of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers.

Hugh Harkett - Director of North Norfolk Railway and the Heritage Railway Association.

Colin Hatch - Director of Hatch Heritage and Steam Engineers Ltd. of Swindon. Member of the NTET General Council.

David Wright - Owner of Locomotive Maintenance Services Ltd. of Loughborough.

Supporting Organisations

Llangollen RailwayShipshape NetworkMaritime Heritage TrustSAFed - The Safety Assessment FederationNational Railway MuseumHeritage Railway AssociationSevern Valley RailwayAvon Valley RailwayEmbsay Railway

Corporate Members

Patrimoine Ferrorviaire et Toursime Asbl.

MONS, Belgium

Heritage Railway Association

Hatch Hertitage & Steam Engineers Ltd


National Traction Engine Trust

North Norfolk Railway PLC


Romney, Hythe & Dymchurch Railway


Leighton Buzzard N.G. Railway

Beamish Museum

BEAMISH, Co. Durham

Epping-Ongar Railway


NBR Engineering Services Ltd


Locomotive Owners Group (Scotland) Ltd


Keighley & Worth Valley Railway


 Leeds & District Traction Engine Club


Flying Scotsman Trust


Road Roller Association

Graham Morris Engineering Ltd


The Flour Mill Ltd


Spa Valley Railway


Embsay & Bolton Abbey Railway  


National Traction Engine Trust Leeds & District Traction Engine Club Locomotive Maintenance Services Kent & East Sussex Railway York College Keighley & Worth Valley Railway Middleton Railway West Somerset Railway locomotive owners group scotland